NATALIE THOMAS
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PCT. 1 WHEELER COUNTY
115 E Texas Street~ P.O. Box 452
Wheeler, Texas 79096
(806)826-5768~ Fax (806)826-0610

If you have any questions regarding procedures, you may contact our office. The Judge is, by law,
unable to discuss any case with either party prior to the trial The clerks will try to answer any procedural
questions, however, they are not attorneys and will not answer any legal questions. If you have any legal
questions, please contact any attorney or consult the Texas Property Code, which is available at any
public library as well as online.

EVICTION SUITS

An eviction suit must be filed in the County and Precinct where the rental property is located.

NOTICE TO VACATE: The landlord must give the tenant a writfen notice to vacate. It must state the reason
for demand of property and give a specific date by which the tenant must vacate the property. The notice must
be signed by the landlord or landlord’s agent and must include the date and time of delivery to the tenant. The
notice to vacate shall be given in person or by mail at the property in question. Notice in person may be by
personal delivery to the tenant or any person residing at the premises who is 16 years of age or older or personal
delivery to the premises and affixing the notice to the inside of the main entry door. If the property has no
mailbox and has a keyless bolting device, alarm system, or dangerous animal that prevents the landlord from
entering the premises to leave the notice to vacate on the inside of the main entry door, then the landlord may
affix the notice to the outside of the main entry door. Notice by mail may be by regular mail. Unless there is
a written lease regulating the notice requirements, the landlord must give the tenant 72 hours (3 days) notice to
vacate in cases pertaining to non-payment of rent and/or breach of lease.

WHO MAY FILE The owner of the property or the owner’s agent may file the eviction suit. The agent may
represent the owner in cases pettaining to non-payment of rent and holding over,

SUIT FOR RENT When an eviction suit is filed for non-payment of rent, the landlord may include in the suit
any unpaid back rent that is owed by the tenant. The amount must be within the jurisdictional limit of the
Court which is $20,000.00. Any damages, late charges or other charges may not be included in the suit;
however, the landlord may file another suit in small claims court for these amounts.

FILING AN EVICTION SUIT If the tenant does not vacate the property by the date given in the notice, the
landlord or agent may then file an eviction suit. The landlord or agent must fill out the enclosed petition and
affidavit. The petition, affidavit, vacate and the filing fees ($54.00 Filing fee and $100.00 Service Fee per
tenant. Each tenant that has signed the lease must be served with a citation. The exact amount of cash or
check will be accepted. At the time of filing, a hearing date will be set by the Court. The date will be 10 to 21
days from the date of filing. A citation for each tenant will be issued to the Wheeler County Sheriff's Office to
be served on the tenant. The citation notifies the tenant that they are being sued for eviction and they are
commanded to appear at the date and time of hearing. Either party has a right to a JURY TRIAL. A $22.00
jury fee must be paid prior to the hearing date.



HEARING The landlord or landlord’s agent must appear in court for the hearing. Proper representation is
essential. The landlord or agent must appear with all pertinent evidence pertaining to the case, (lease, notice to
vacate, etc.) The burden of proof lies with the landlord. The landlord or agent must show the Court good and
sufficient evidence proving right to regain possession of the property. If the landlord fails to appear for the
hearing, the case will be dismissed by the Court and the landlord will have forfeited all costs and will have to
start the process over. If the landlord wishes to drop the case the suit for whatever reason, (tenant moves, pays
rent, etc.) a letter of dismissal is requested by the Court. Please notify the Court prior to the hearing so that
docket can be adjusted. At the hearing, a judgement will be entered for either the landiord or the tenant.
Bither party has the right to appeal the decision of the Court within 5 days from date of the judgment. Ifa
judgment is rendered in favor of the landlord, the tenant has 5 days to vacate the property or appeal the decision
of the Court. If they do not, the landlord has the right to obtain a writ of possession.

WRIT OF POSSESSION A writ of possession ($175.00 fee) may not be issued more than 60 days after
judgment for possession is signed. For good cause, the court may extend the deadline for issuance to 90 days
after judgment is signed. A writ of possession is a legal document issued to the Sheriff’s office by the Court
directing them to take possession of the property and turn possession over to the landlord. The Sheriff’s office
is required to give the tenant notice that the writ will be executed not sooner than 24 hours after the notice is
posted. When the writ is executed, the Sheriff’s office will turn the premises over to the landlord.



